Using the Crockpot: Gramma Edition

24 Feb

I don’t know about you guys but some foods remind me of being home. It’s hard being 2,000 miles away from home; especially when I get back from class and I’m beat & tired, sometimes I just want my mom’s homemade chicken noodle soup. After cleaning out our refrigerator one Sunday, my roommates and I found an unreal amount of vegetables that were never opened or used. At first, someone said that we should just throw it all away, but I decided to use all of those veggies for homemade chicken noodle soup. With the crockpot handy and a couple of hours to kill, we started to experiment. This was one of the best creations we’ve ever concocted and it seriously took no skill at all. Don’t worry if you don’t have all of these ingredients, substitute some of the veggies with whatever you like!

Prep time: 25 minutes

Cook time: 3 hours minimum

Ingredients

Carrots (preferably the long stalks)

¼ of an onion

A box of chicken broth

1-2 fillets of chicken (can be fresh or frozen)

2-3 stalks of celery

1 potato

A box of pasta noodles (we like the bow ties, or if you don’t have any pasta noodles, you can use ramen noodles, we won’t judge you too much.)

Directions

1. Pour the box of chicken broth into the crockpot (please clean the crockpot before you use it!) then fill about ¾ of the crockpot with water. This is the time you can start adding garlic powder, pepper, salt or whatever.

2. Now that you’ve got the broth, start chopping up and throwing your ingredients into the pot. These can go in any order!

3. Rinse then peel the carrots. Chop up the carrots in small pieces, the amount you chop up is up to you! Place them into the pot.

4. Repeat the steps listed above for the potato. I like to make these bigger chunks.

5. Repeat the steps listed above for the celery, except don’t peel the celery stalks because that’s weird and cut off the top of the celery where the little leaves are.

6. Cut an onion into small, fine pieces and scatter them in the pot.

7. Rinse the chicken, or let the meat thaw (I quicken up this process by letting the meat sit under hot water.) Then start cutting off all of the fat and then cutting the meat into stripes.

8. After all of your ingredients are in the crockpot, turn it on low and let it sit.

Warning! Notice that you never added noodles to this, I find that when I leave the noodles sitting with the soup, they get really mushy and gross. I like to do this all in the morning or before I leave for class. Then when I get home about an hour before I’m ready to start grubbin’ I pour the whole box of noodles of into the pot.

8. Once you put the noodles into the crockpot and taste the broth to make sure it is tasting good, (you can always improvise and put more spices in there!) start putting that warm goodness into your bowl & chow down.

Since we go to school in a very cold Midwest college town, coming home to a bowl of homemade chicken noodle soup is such an added bonus to my day. I know what you’re probably thinking… that a can of Campbell’s chicken noodle soup is calling your name instead. That garbage is full of sodium, preservatives and not as hearty. Let us know what you put into your homemade chicken noodle soup!

"The Zonemag"

Leave a Reply

