Eggos Annonymous

23 Feb

I’m Mary and I’m an Eggo-aholic. I just can’t consume enough Eggos. I’m that girl who fills up the freezer with the “family-size” Eggo pack and pisses everyone off in the house. I’ve been a fan of Eggos since I can remember consuming breakfast. I will never forget when our nanny would help my brothers and myself get ready for school in the morning and she would make the most buttery, scrumptious, salivating plate of Eggos I’ve ever had. I mean, I was probably in 2nd grade and I can still vividly remember the taste of these things 16 years later. I’m telling you, they were serious business. Anyway, before I write a novel on my love for Eggos, I’ll let you know that I have cut down my intake drastically and I substituted butter for peanut butter and maple syrup for agave. I look at it now as a more healthy dependency.

Prep time: 5 minutes

Ingredients

2 Eggos

Agave nectar

2 tablespoons of peanut butter

Directions

1. Place Eggos in the toaster (duh).

2. Remove Eggos from the toaster and spread a thin layer of peanut butter onto each Eggo.

3. Drizzle a little bit of Agave onto the Eggos.

I’m not going to lie, it took me awhile to adjust to the taste of Agave nectar versus normal maple syrup. A trick I learned is to use it sparingly, since it is a nectar and packed with sweetness, a lot of it at once will make you cringe. If you are interested in finding out more before using Agave, look at this link, which gives a pretty unbiased opinion of the nectar: http://www.livestrong.com/article/276217-what-are-the-health-benefits-of-agave-nectar/. Please reassure me that I am not the only Eggo-aholic out there and leave a comment letting us know how you prepare your Eggos! Keep grubbin’ & have a great day!

Leave a Reply

