Morning Hunger Games

20 Feb

When my alarm clock goes off in the morning, my first instinct is to hit the snooze button about 5 times until I look at the clock and notice that I have about 20 minutes to get ready, pack up my backpack and eat breakfast before my first class of the day. Let me just say that I am a breakfast lady, I LOVE breakfast, it’s my jam, so I can’t leave the house without it or skip it. Lately, I’ve been trying to find something super simple to make and grub quickly, so I bought a bunch of original instant oatmeal from Walmart and decided to improvise a little. Then one morning, I brilliantly added a tablespoon of Nutella to it and the rest is history.

Prep Time: 30 seconds

Total Time: 2 minutes

Ingredients

1 package of instant oatmeal

Jar of Nutella

1 banana (not necessary, but great for additional yumminess!)

Directions:

1. Empty instant oatmeal package into a microwaveable bowl and add 2/3 cup of water to it. Put the bowl into the microwave and heat up for a minute and a half.

2. While it’s cooking chop up a banana into slices or just wait and skip the banana.

3. When the oatmeal is done, bust out that Nutella jar and get a spoonful of that chocolately-hazelnut goodness. Mix it into the oatmeal and you are all done!

Wasn’t that insanely easy & delicious? Also, that meal was only 200 calories, you can’t eat a regular bowl of cereal for less than 200 calories! I think my main goal with this meal was to make oatmeal not so boring and bland. Usually people don’t get super excited about having oatmeal for breakfast but when there is some chocolate involved it will definitely get me out of bed. Did I mention that I am addicted to chocolate? Have a good morning & get your grub on!

 

6 Responses to “Morning Hunger Games”

  1. Rischmöller Real Estate February 21, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    In Peru we have a powdered chooclotey blend thing made from kiwicha and quinoa and some other healthy stuff mixed with cocoa. You basically use it like hot chocolate or chocolate milk. But I throw that into my oatmeal to give it that flavor. Can’t say I ever thought of adding Nutella, but I’m buying a jar tonight to try tomorrow morning.

    • College Grubbin' February 21, 2012 at 11:37 am #

      Let us know how you like it and thanks for the comment!

      • Rischmöller Real Estate February 23, 2012 at 9:48 am #

        I just tried this last night for dinner (I’m experimenting with having dinner for breakfast and breakfast for dinner to help me not eat so much at night and have a better start in the morning)…DELICIOUS!

        I will be honest, when I stuck the nutella in the oatmeal, I didn’t think it would really mix that well…but talk about being a match made in heaven! Honestly, I don’t know how I ate oatmeal without this all these years! The hint of hazelnuts in the oatmeal is just something I never thought of. Plus, since this is now my dinner, it’s like mixing dinner and dessert all in one! Thanks for this!

  2. Bertha February 26, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    Love the blog

  3. sweetopiagirl March 15, 2012 at 7:48 am #

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quinoa Oatmeal with Nutella! | lifethroughmy4eyes - February 23, 2012

    […] found this on a new blog, College Grubin’, courtesy of comment stalking Rischmöller Real Estate blog.  I am always looking for ways to […]

Leave a Reply

